Spicy Cucuzza Squash Casserole

My neighbor introduced me to cucuzza squash.  I’d never heard of it until she gave me one, straight from her garden.  I did a little research on the internet and learned they should be peeled and the seeds should be removed if they are large.  Mine had tiny seeds so I didn’t remove them.  My neighbor also gave me fresh tomatoes and peppers so I thought a casserole would be perfect.  I’m not going to lie, my kids didn’t care for this dish.  That’s fine though because my husband and I devoured it and there were no leftovers!

 

FullSizeRender 3

Ingredients

  • 4 cups cucuzza squash. peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 1  tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 tablespoon organic extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 lb ground Italian sausage
  • 1 cup Italian blend shredded cheese
  • 1/2 mozzarella shredded cheese
  • salt to taste

 

FullSizeRender 4

Some vegetables from my neighbor’s garden, aren’t they beautiful?

 

Directions

Brown the sausage in a skillet.  Drain fat and set aside.

In the same skillet, add the cucuzza, olive oil, jalapeno, onions, tomato, garlic, salt and red pepper flakes and saute on medium heat for 8- 10 minutes, or until the onions and cucuzza are soft.

Remove from heat and add to an 8 x 8 baking dish.

Add the sausage, tomato sauce and 1 cup of shredded Italian blend cheese and stir until everything is well combined.

Sprinkle the shredded mozzarella on top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.

Garnish with fresh chopped parsley and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

